Fitness Report No. 3 – First Thoughts on Zumba!

As part of my Fitness Reports series I decided to try out my first Zumba class this week! This is not the type of class that I would typically be attracted to. I have never been big on dancing (unless it’s in my living room) and I have never tried a dance based fitness class before. This was a great opportunity to try something new and push myself out of my comfort zone.

Zumba has boomed in popularity in the past few years. It has dominated the dance based fitness industry and perfected the group fitness certified trainer program. Zumba comes in many forms from DVDs to group classes to video games. The Zumba fitness program features Latin style dance movements inspired by various styles of Latin American dance and performed primarily to Latin American dance music.

I’ll start with what I liked about the class. First, it was definitely fun and easy. I was afraid that I would have a hard time picking up on the dance moves and choreography, but they moves are not complicated and my instructor was good about taking us through each new move and series. Concentrating on what I was doing also made the class go by really fast. Time flies when you are having fun and this class makes for a fun workout.

Zumba definitely got my heart rate up however the class was mostly cardio and I was disappointed that there were not many strengthening or toning exercises. Although we did do some squats and standing crunches I felt like my upper body was completely neglected. After some research I found that Zumba has actually attempted to address this issue. They have created other types of Zumba classes such as Zumba Toning which is done with weights and Zumba Step which is a combination of Zumba and step aerobics.

Overall I do not think that Zumba is the class for me. I am one of those people who is not really concerned with how much fun I am having while working out and more interested in how hard I can go. However, I can absolutely see why Zumba has become such a dominating force in the fitness industry. It is a fun, fast paced class that is great for weight loss. It is the new age Jazzercise and I am glad I had the opportunity to give it a try!

Pintrest Zumba

Leave a Reply

